Helpful hints #4: Using Toggl Desktop

Today we’ll talk a bit about the basics of using Toggl Desktop.

Log in with your Toggl username and password, set the first day of the week and let’s get started.

To start tracking time you have 2 options:

  • Click on the task name below – Toggl continues tracking for this task.
  • Click on the project name below – Toggl creates a new task for the project. You can enter the description of the task in the box as usual.

Toggl Desktop start using

Once the task is running, you can start or stop the timer by clicking on the good old Toggl button Toggl button

Now, if you want to change task details, you can click on the Edit link in the running task box. This will open up the editing view, where you can change everything about the task (similar to Toggl web).

Toggl Desktop earlier task

After editing the task, click on Save.

Toggl Desktop edit task

Enjoy, and please don’t hesitate to give us feedback!

35 Responses to Helpful hints #4: Using Toggl Desktop

  1. Aris says:

    Great work – I have a silly question: at some point the desk-bar item turned into an exclamation .. what does this mean? Looks like a doodle warning.

  2. Kristel says:

    Hi Aris,

    Thanks! The trianlge with an exclamation mark shows that Toggl Desktop can’t connect to the server. However, all your changes will be sent to the server once the connection is back up again :)

    Best,
    Kristel

  3. Peter says:

    I find there’s a few linking issues with timing started on-line compared to tasks started and stopped from the Desktop app. But I really like the app sitting there all the time for easy access!

  4. Kristel says:

    Hi Peter,

    Using Toggl Desktop at the same time as using Toggl on the web can cause certain issues with the task durations as they communicate slightly differently with the server. However, if you use only one at a time, all should be well :)

    Cheers,
    Kristel

  5. Vincent Duckworth says:

    Any thoughts on providing a Mac OS port for toggl desktop?

  6. Kristel says:

    Hi Vincent,

    We’re planning to re-design the current Toggl website to use the same logic as Toggl Desktop does. From there it will be quite easy to create a widget for Mac OS :)

    Best,
    Kristel

  7. Larry says:

    Just discovered Toggl and it looks like what I need. I signed up for the free service to try it out but I can’t get the desktop application to log in. (I’m sure Username and Password are correct.) Any suggestions?

  8. Kristel says:

    Hi Larry,

    Could it be that you are behind a proxy? It appears that Toggl Desktop has an issue with working behind proxy servers and we’re working on fixing it. If this is not the case, then perhaps you could send us the error message (if there is any?).

    Cheers,
    Kristel

  9. Larry says:

    Hi Kristel,

    I’m logging in with a Dell using Vista Home Deluxe and a home wireless router (Linksys with dd-wrt firmware) for a DSL connection. It seems the app can’t find my always-on Internet connections.

    The error message is: “Login failed! Login failed: Downloading of Toggl projects and tasks took too long and was aborted. Please check your connection!”

    No problem logging on at your website and all my other apps can find the internet.

    Hope that helps.
    larry

  10. Kristel says:

    Hi Larry,

    Thanks for this info. We’ll look into it ASAP and keep you posted on what we come up with.

    Best,
    Kristel

  11. Tommy says:

    Hi, i have ideas for features for Toggle desktop
    * a possibility to add global hotkeys, at least for start / stop button?
    * monitoring of activity and a popup saying “Toggl has noticed you are working on your computer, but don’t have any tasks running, would you like to run a task”. (of course, you should be able to turn this on/off in the settings)
    * autoupdate (like firefox)

    Great application!

  12. Kristel says:

    Hi Tommy,

    Thanks for your ideas! They’re excellent :)

    Cheers,
    Kristel

  13. Any chance of a port to Mono on the Linux platform?

    Cheers,
    J.

  14. Kristel says:

    Hi James,

    We don’t have it planned any time soon, perhaps sometime in the future :)

    Best,
    Kristel

  15. Adam Brouwer says:

    I don’t know if I am blind – but when a new project is created, is there a refresh button in toggl desktop 0.8.7 to make the project appear? I have found it quickest to log out and then back in rather than wait for it to automatically refresh.

    Thanks

  16. Kristel says:

    Hi Adam,

    Currently there isn’t a refresh button in Toggl Desktop, but we’re thinking about adding one.

    Cheers,
    Kristel

  17. Anika says:

    Hi. How can I change the view in Toggl Desktop list? It shows the list of project by customer name, but most of our customers have many projects. I’d prefer to have it listed with project name first, so we can more easily pick the correct project to begin billing against. I am sure this is easy, I just can’t figure out how to do this. Thanks!

  18. rdb says:

    Hi!
    Using the Toggl Desktop, how can I select the proper workspace? Trying to set up different workspaces for different locations (office, home).

    Any changes on running Toggl Desktop using a proxy server?

    Thanks in advance and thanks for that nice tool! – rdb

  19. One more question about offline mode – do I need to do anything special to get it to reconnect to the server? I’m a little nervous about losing my time. Should I log out?

    Maybe consider adding a “reconnect to server” link when in offline mode. (Perhaps in the dropdown list with Log Out/Exit.)

  20. SKM says:

    Hi, I just sent this through your website, too. I’ve been using Toggl for about a week and am loving it. I have all of my projects and tasks set up–basically, it’s become my brain. Sadly, today it stopped working. Every time I login to the desktop, it crashes and asks if I want to send an error message to Windows. I’ve reinstalled the desktop and did some various OS updates (restarting each time), but that didn’t make a difference. Am I right in thinking that I can’t stop/start my task time clocks from the web? And is this a problem you’ve encountered before? Thanks so much.

  21. taj says:

    Hi!
    Just a quick question about Toggl desktop – are there some keyboard shortcuts e.g. for starting and stopping the active task?

  22. Craig Hill says:

    Another vote here for Mac widget support for Toggl, I’ve just started using it & would love to control it from my desktop.

    Excellent looking product.

  23. Alex Quinn says:

    The web site indicated that tracking could be done without any extra effort. I had high hopes that it would have a way to use the title of the active window to infer what I’m working on. TimeTracker ( http://ttracker.sourceforge.net/ ) does this, but definitely lacks the polish and web access that Toggl has. I’d love to see a best of both worlds.

    Also, I second the motion for a Mono port for Linux, although I realize that would make my suggestion above more difficult.

  24. Anthony says:

    Any news on the proxy fix for the Desktop version? I would love to be able to use this where I work and I have no choice but to go through the proxy. Do you guys need help with getting stuff like this done?

  25. Edith Piaf says:

    Hey Guys I love this is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I love Myself!!!!!!!!!!!! For Using IT!!!!!!!!!

  26. Ali says:

    How can I close a task once its completed using toggl desktop? Thanks. (Please email me)

  27. Ali says:

    Can you please respond?? How do I close tasks in toggl desktop?

  28. Alari says:

    Hello Ali, you don’t need to close tasks in Timer or Toggl Desktop. You can hide them if you don’t want to see the old tasks any more. Tasks that have no time entries for the last 7 days will be automatically hidden.

  29. KAZ says:

    Toggl desktop keeps ending my task, at apparently random intervals, even when I’m working on the machine. The little button turns grey, without me stopping the task manually, nor quitting toggl desktop.

    Any idea what could cause this?

  30. Alari says:

    We had a bug with previous version of Toggl Desktop, which caused the timer to stop randomly after the midnight had passed. It should be fixed in the newest available version.

  31. Michelle says:

    It seems my tasks are randomly disappearing from toggl reporting. This seems to happen if i work on a task for a project and then later come back to a NEW task for the same project. The first task will show as (no description) then upon a refresh, will disappear all together. I’m using the web version. What is going on! It looks like I only worked 5:45 minutes today even though I had a 1 hr long meeting and an 1:21 minutes on a project that has completely disappeared!

  32. Alari says:

    Hi Michelle, we’re looking at the problem.

  33. willy says:

    True Time Tracker – really great and free time tracking software – http://www.truetimetracker.com/

  34. Tiry says:

    How’s things?, sometimes I see a 500 website message when I browse your page. Just a heads up, best wishes

  35. “Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments”

Leave a comment