We’re happy to announce that Toggl Desktop version 0.9.3 has a new and intriguing feature. It now has the ability to learn.
What do you mean by “learn”?
It works like this:
Toggl Desktop memorizes the titles of the windows you use and connects these words in the title with the projects you track.
After a short learning period it can give you suggestions on the project to track.
Can you give me an example?
Of course! For example, if you are tracking a task in project A and open a window that you used when tracking a different project, let’s say B, then Toggl Desktop will show you a little popup suggesting you to track project B. You can ignore the popup or agree with the suggestion and Toggl Desktop will automatically start tracking on project B.
How can I try it?
If you noticed, then you see the new autopilot bar at the bottom of Toggl Desktop main window:
It is turned off by default so you have to turn it on by clicking on the black triangle or the text “Autopilot off” itself.
After turning it on, it starts memorizing the titles of the windows you use when working on your project. You will also see study progress while Toggl Desktop is learning.
After some time, when enough information has been gathered, Toggl Desktop can start suggesting which project to track. If you see this “Studying complete” status message, then you know that Toggl Desktop is ready to start helping you.
So, how does Toggl Desktop contribute to my projecttracking?
If Toggl Desktop thinks (based on the information memorized) that you should be tracking a different project from the current project, then a small popup window emerges. It asks if you want to start tracking the project it suggests. If you ignore the window, it will go away automatically after a few seconds but if you click “Yes” then Toggl Desktop will start tracking the project suggested.
As you see in the picture, Toggl Desktop is offering you to start tracking an existing task:
If you have not tracked a task under this project in the current session then Toggl Desktop will suggest you to start a new task:
I don’t want to use this new feature, how can I make it disappear?
Of course, if you are not interested in this feature then simply turn it off if it is on (default is off) and you can hide the autopilot bar from the settings:
Can anybody see the memorized data?
If you are worried about your privacy then don’t be because no information that is collected will be sent to our server or anywhere for that matter. All the data will stay in your computer under your user account.
Try it out and see how it works for you ! :)
P.S. We would very much appreciate any feedback on how our new feature is functioning! Thanks!
P.S.S. Oh, and did I mention that the new version also has many bugfixes?